Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $35+
Free Shipping on all US Orders $35+

Turning Point

Save 6% Save 6%
Original price $16.99
Original price $16.99 - Original price $16.99
Original price $16.99
Current price $15.99
$15.99 - $15.99
Current price $15.99
Format: Hardcover
All deliveries are carbon neutral
Powered by Shopify Planet

Lucy & Phyllis is a Certified B Corporation that meets the highest standards of social and eveironmental impact.

When being yourself isn't good enough, who should you be?

Told in dual perspectives, this provocative and timely novel for middle-school readers by Paula Chase, the acclaimed author of So Done and Dough Boys, will resonate with fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renée Watson.

Best friends Rasheeda and Monique are both good girls. For Sheeda, that means keeping her friends close and following her deeply religious and strict aunt’s every rule. For Mo, that means not making waves in the prestigious and mostly White ballet intensive she’s been accepted to.

But what happens when Sheeda catches the eye of Mo’s older brother, and the invisible racial barriers to Mo’s success as a ballerina turn out to be not so invisible? What happens when you discover that being yourself isn’t good enough? How do you fight back?

Paula Chase explores the complex and emotional issues that affect many young teens in this novel set in the same neighborhood as her acclaimed So Done and Dough Boys. Friendship, family, finding yourself, and standing your ground are the themes of this universal story that is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renée Watson.

ISBN-13: 9780062965660

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Publication Date: 09-15-2020

Pages: 384

Product Dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)

Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

Paula Chase is the cofounder of The Brown Bookshelf, a site designed to increase awareness of African American voices writing for young readers. She lives in Annapolis, Maryland. Her novels include the acclaimed So Done and its companion, Dough Boys. www.paulachasehyman.